Scientific Forums

Add reply Start new topic Start new poll

> x,y,z vs time
toydolls0101
Posted: Feb 26 2005, 06:29 AM

Group: Members

Positive Feedback: 0%
Feedback Score: 0

This might be a stupid question for I am just a mere high school student. But I have somehow gotten the idea in my head that time is considered to be a dimension. Or at least it is described as such. However my question is this...

Time can be slowed down by moving at a speed close to the speed of light, in any direction, x, y, or z. However my basic physics states that movement in a dimensionis independant from movement in another dimension. So how can x, y, and z have an effect on time if time is a demension just like them?

My conclusion would be that time is not a dimension.
ARtone
Posted: Feb 26 2005, 10:37 AM

Advanced Member

Positive Feedback: 54.55%
Feedback Score: 2

Hang on to that thought its highly likely to be correct
Moseley
Posted: Feb 26 2005, 12:41 PM

Advanced Member

Positive Feedback: 75%
Feedback Score: 7

I think the reason we call time a dimension is so that we can define the same location (x,y,z all the same), in a different time frame, thus creating two separate incidences.
The notion of space-time as a dimension is one that you will encounter as your physics progresses and various contributors will probably add a few more.
Good luck with it.
Big Jesus
Posted: Feb 26 2005, 02:08 PM

Unregistered

Yo, think of it like geometry, time is in a certain direction perpendicular to your "space"