Scientific Forums

Add reply Start new topic Start new poll

> Electromagnet Materials And Properties, Electromagnetic Materials and Properties
chucksaw3
Posted: Oct 14 2011, 10:20 AM

Group: Members

Positive Feedback: 0%
Feedback Score: 0

Hello, I am a College student in Michigan trying to build a few electromagnets, six to be exact. I am trying to figure out how I can build the requisite electromagnets. I am trying to make them mostly electric though as weight is an issue.

Since I will probably end up using some sort of ferrous/copper combination; what sort of electric quality will increase the electromagnetic flux in an electromagnet more? Amps, volts, or watts (I have very little knowledge of the electric side of Physics)?

If anybody can shine some light on this I would really appreciate it! Thanks!
Robittybob1
Posted: Oct 15 2011, 07:55 PM

Advanced Member

Group: Power Member

A good Google search would hit the answer that waiting for the answer here.
boit
Posted: Oct 23 2011, 10:12 AM

Moran of the Burning Spear

Positive Feedback: 62.16%
Feedback Score: 25

Guess what. You can make use of electromagnetism without using any magnetic material, in fact without any material. A selenoid is all that you need (plus the electricity of course).

--------------------
Boit was last taught physics in class way back in 1994. Whatever he's learnt thereafter is purely by personal effort through this forum and searching the net. He is not an authority in any matter science. Unless with clear referrence, what he puts forward is his own understanding of what he has read and may not always be correct. Peace.
Lady Elizabeth
Posted: Feb 19 2013, 04:44 AM

Dame of the British Empire.

Positive Feedback: 85.71%
Feedback Score: 5

@RabidityCentral

We've currently 94k+ registered members - none of which have bothered to support you or your paranoid claims.

What does this tell you, imply?