Scientific Forums

Add reply · Start new topic · Start new poll

> The Human Body Is An Open System And Non- Equilibr, Does The Conservation Of Energy Apply
MasOyama
Posted: Mar 6 2013, 12:57 PM

Group: Members

Positive Feedback: 0%
Feedback Score: 0

I am a complete beginner in physics and need somebody who really understand this to explain this to me:

*I realize the human body is an open system and it is also a NON- equilibrium system

*It is my understanding that because of these two things, any attempt to apply the conservation of energy law to the human body would require an equation that is extremely complex- much, much more so than for closed system equilibrium thermodynamics.

Does the conservation of energy law even apply to the human body ? If so, do you have a rough idea of what the equation looks like?

A professor once told me that "the conservation of energy law does NOT apply to open systems where UNKNOWN amounts of energy may be gained or lost from it."

I wonder if such is the situation with the human body ? ( i.e. not applying)

Thanks.

Mas Oyama

This post has been edited by MasOyama on Mar 6 2013, 12:59 PM
s0cratus
Posted: Mar 6 2013, 02:48 PM

Advanced Member

Group: Power Member

Positive Feedback: 36.36%
Feedback Score: -44

QUOTE (MasOyama @ Mar 6 2013, 12:57 PM)
I am a complete beginner in physics and need somebody who really understand this to explain this to me:

*I realize the human body is an open system and it is also a NON- equilibrium system

*It is my understanding that because of these two things, any attempt to apply
the conservation of energy law to the human body would require an equation
that is extremely complex- much, much more so than for closed system    equilibrium thermodynamics.

Does the conservation of energy law even apply to the human body ?
If so, do you have a rough idea of what the equation looks like?

A professor once told me that "the conservation of energy law does NOT apply